The Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM), under the direction of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), has designated St. Joseph County as a regulated Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System or MS4.

Regulated MS4's are required to develop and implement a Stormwater Quality Management Plan (SWQMP). The SWQMP is a comprehensive document that addresses stormwater quality, within the designated area, that includes methods and measurable goals with the following Minimum Control Measures (MCMs):

  1. Public Education and Outreach
  2. Public Participation and Involvement 
  3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  4. Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control
  5. Post-Construction Stormwater Runoff Control
  6. Municipal Operations Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping